Skip to Main Content

 

The OECD iLibrary: Economics

A guide outlining the features available through the Department's OECD iLibrary subscription.

The OECD iLibrary Economics Collection: Overview of Content

The OECD iLibrary includes a variety of economics resources that examine economic trends and give information on policy developments in OECD countries. Resources are updated regularly and provide economic analysis of current issues, such as the economic recession resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. Resources in the collection include eBooks, papers, chapters, and datasets. A selection of resources is highlighted below and additional material can be found at https://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/economics.

The OECD iLibrary Economics Collection: Key Resources

In 2012, the OECD launched the New Approaches to Economic Challenges Initiative (NAEC) to investigate the causes of and lessons learned from the financial crisis. NAEC aims to strengthen policy approaches to financial crises and to provide policymakers with research and insight to develop sound public policies. As part of the NAEC, the OECD invites the world's leading thinkers to debate current economic challenges. The New Approaches to Economic Challenges series summarizes these debates and presents the views of Nobel laureates and influential speakers from government, the private sector, and academia. The series covers topics that include the digital economy, the financial system, and economic growth.

This series is informed by the OECD's work in comparing country experiences and identifying best practices and customizes OECD policy advice to the specific priorities of member and partner countries. The overarching theme of the series is achieving reform through the development of sound government policy.

The OECD Reviews of Digital Transformation evaluate recent developments relating to the digital economy. Books in the series review policies on digitalisation and offer recommendations on how to increase policy coherence. Recommendations are based on the OECD Going Digital integrated policy framework. 

Economic Policy Reforms is an annual publication that highlights structural policy developments in OECD countries. Each issue provides an overview of the policy developments and a set of indicators that demonstrate structural policy evolution. Each country profile is accompanied by a set of notes that summarize the priorities discussed, outline the actions taken, and provide recommendations for moving forward. Tables and graphs are provided for each country. 

OECD Economics Surveys: Canada offers an assessment of the Canadian economy. Issues are published regularly and discuss the country's economic challenges, outline the short-term economic outlook, and provide policy recommendations. Issues include special chapters that provide an in-depth analysis of specific challenges. Each issue is accompanied by extensive charts and graphs that provide statistical information.

The OECD Economic Policy Papers include studies on structural and macro-economic policy issues of current interest. 

The OECD Economics Department Working Papers discuss issues relating to current economic concerns and offer policy analysis and projections. 

The OECD Statistics Working Papers are produced by the OECD Statistics and Data Directorate and include statistical studies relating to various topics that correspond with OECD research areas.

The Main Economic Indicators include data for various economic indicators. Data is provided for quarterly national accounts, business surveys, retail sales, consumer prices, unemployment rates, money and domestic finance, foreign finance, and balance of payments for OECD countries and non-member economies.

The OECD Economic Outlook: Statistics and Projections provides historical trends and future projections for a variety of economic statistics.

The OECD National Accounts Statistics provides annual and quarterly data for a variety of areas that include gross domestic product (GDP), population and employment, general government accounts, and central government debt for OECD countries. Data is available for 1955 to the present and is internationally comparable based on the System of National Accounts 2008 (SNA 2008).

The OECD Product Market Regulation Statistics provides data for indicators of product market regulation at both the economy-wide and sectoral levels. 

Recent OECD Economics Publications: 2022

Wolfrom, L. (2022). Could insurance provide an alternative to fiscal support in crisis response? OECD Working Papers on Fiscal Federalism, No. 40, OECD Publishing: Paris.

D'Arcangelo, F., Levin, I., Pagani, A., Pisu, M., & Johansson, A. (2022). "A framework to decarbonise the economy", OECD Economic Policy Papers, No. 31, OECD Publishing, Paris.

OECD. (2022). Main Economic Indicators, Vol. 2022, Issue 9. OECD Publishing: Paris. 

Causa, O., et al. (2022). "The post-COVID-19 rise in labour shortages," OECD Economics Department Working Papers, NO. 1721. Paris: OECD Publishing: Paris. 

Contact Access Actions
Email icon  Library/Bibliothèque (FIN) Book icon  Catalogue Research question / Question de recherche
Address icon   9th floor - 9022 - 9e étage FAQ icon  FAQ Send feedback / Partager vos commentaires
  Sitemap icon  Sitemap / Plan du site