Journals & Articles: Finding Articles

Finding Articles with the Publication Finder

The Library's EBSCO databases provide access to a large collection of journals. See below for steps on how to access articles using our Publication Finder. 

Step 1

Visit the Publication Finder (linked here). If you know the journal you are looking for, enter the title in the search bar. You can also browse publications by title by selecting the letters below. If you don't know the specific journal you are looking for, you can browse by subject or database to locate titles.

.

Step 2

After selecting your desired journal, you will be directed to a new page with a list of databases providing access to this title. As in the example shown below, the Library provides access to Foreign Policy through the Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete databases. Below each database you will find information on the publication years that are available.

Step 3

After selecting a database, you will be directed to a new page where you can search within the publication or can browse publications by year using the options at the right, as shown below. Searching within the publication is a good option if you want to locate a specific article and know the title or author you are looking for. This option will also search across all issues of Foreign Policy that are included in the database. Browsing publications by year is a good option if you are looking for a specific issue of the publication and know the date the issue was published. 

Step 4

You have various access options for each publication. To see the available options, click on the "Access options" drop down menu. As shown below, Foreign Policy articles are available as PDFs or can be read online. 

PDF and online full-text articles can be downloaded and saved. When you view the article you will also see other options in the upper right, including an option to share the article, cite the article, or bookmark the article for later use. These options are highlighted in the examples below that show the online full-text version (left) and PDF version (right) of the article "What Made the China Miracle?", published in the Summer 2024 issue of Foreign Policy.  

Finding Articles by Searching Across Multiple Databases

The Publication Finder is a useful tool when looking for an article and you know the title of the journal it was published in. When looking for a selection of articles that may have been published in several different journals, searching across multiple databases is often the best approach. To search for articles across multiple databases visit the EBSCO Resource page. This page includes a list of the library's database collections, as shown in the screenshot below. 

Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the last link, EBSCOhost Research Databases. 

Clicking on this link will direct you to another page where you can enter keywords in the search bar to locate articles. For more precise searching, click on the advanced search option that appears above the search bar, as shown below.

An advanced search allows you to locate articles by keyword, author, or publication. As shown below, you can also limit your results to peer-reviewed articles and can specify a specific date range to locate the most recent studies on a topic. 

After entering your search terms, you will be presented with a list of research material that may include articles, eBooks, or working papers. As shown below, an advanced search using the keywords "public sector" and "management" pulls up over 50,000 results.

You can filter these results by clicking on the "All filters" option that appears below the search bar. This option allows you to narrow down your results by filters such as source type, subject, and language.

Clicking on the resource title will direct you to a new page where you can find additional information on the resource that includes access information. Click on the "Access options" drop-down menu to view the PDF or Online-full text version. 

Below is an example of the PDF version of an article published in LABOUR: Review of Labour Economics and Industrial Relations that was found through the keyword search of "public sector" and "management." Articles can be downloaded for later research by clicking on the download icon that appears in the upper right corner of the page. You will also find options for citing the article, printing the article, and sharing the article link.