Journals & Articles: External Research Collections A-Z

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

The APO is a digital repository of public policy research that includes publications contributed by various research organizations. The APO is an Australian research initiative that emphasizes policy research from Australia and New Zealand, but the repository also includes a large selection of documents authored by Canadian research organizations. Research is organized into collections. Current collections include Regulation Policy and Practice, Housing Policy during COVID-19, and Public Administration and Governance.

APF Canada publishes reports, policy briefs, and case studies that focus on Canada-Asia relations. Publications address themes that include trade and investment, domestic networks, and sustainable development.

B

The Brookings Institution is a public policy research organization based in Washington, DC. The organization publishes research on the economic issues affecting the United States and the world. Current research programs include Economic Studies, Foreign Policy, Global Economy and Development, and Governance Studies. Each program contributes research that is available through the organization's website. Research publications include reports, essays, op-eds, and articles.

C

The C.D. Howe Institute is a research organization focused on Canadian public policy. The organization publishes research that addresses the economic significance of current policy. Publications include research reports, intelligence memos, commentaries, and editorials. The C.D. Howe Institute Podcast, which is available on the organization's website, addresses current political, social, and economic issues.

The Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources collection is a partnership between the Library of Parliament and the Canadian Research Knowledge Network. The collection consists of digitized parliamentary publications dating from 1867. Available publications include debates, journals, and bills from the Senate and House of Commons.

CIGI produces peer-reviewed research on a range of policy topics that include monetary policy, central banking, digital currency, and the innovation economy.

The Conference Board of Canada analyzes current issues affecting Canadians. The organization publishes research on a wide range of topics such as economic trends, organizational performance, and public policy. Publications are available through the Conference Board of Canada e-Library. To access e-Library content, create an account by visiting the registration page and sign up using your departmental email.

The Council on Foreign Relations is a research organization based in the United States. The organization publishes Foreign Affairs magazine and produces research on US foreign policy and international affairs. Research addresses a wide range of topics that include diplomacy and international institutions, economics, policy and government, energy and environment, and social issues. Publications are available through the organization's website and include reports, articles, and InfoGuides that provide background information on key international issues. A library of event recordings is also available.

D

E

F

The Fraser Institute produces research and analysis on government policy. Research addresses the impact of policy measures and focuses on issues such as taxation, healthcare, education, and economic freedom.

G

H

The Hoover Institution is based out of Stanford University and publishes research on a wide range of topics. Areas of focus include economic policy, foreign affairs and national security, law, and social policy. These topics are addressed in reports, articles, and working papers that are available on the organization's website along with podcasts and lecture recordings. 

The organization also publishes a variety of journals and magazines such as The Hoover Digest and Defining Ideas. Past and current issues are available online. The Hoover Digest is a quarterly publication that provides research and opinion on public policy issues. Defining Ideas covers topics in economics, law, and political science, and provides insight into key public policy issues.

I

The IPL is a research hub within the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Toronto that focuses on how innovation impacts growth and society. Research also examines the relationship between innovation and factors such as globalization and technology, while considering how government policy can shape innovation and enact change within societies. The IPL brings together researchers from various schools and departments at the University of Toronto, and from other institutions across the world. IPL research initiatives include the publication of a newsletter highlighting IPL news and research, a Speaker Series, and the publication of academic papers, policy reports, and working papers.

The IRPP is a public policy research organization that focuses on the economic and social policy issues affecting Canadians. Research priorities include Canada's aging population, diversity and pluralism, and the impact of global trade and production on Canadian competitiveness. The organization publishes reports that address these research themes.

J

K

L

The Library of Parliament maintains an online collection of research publications. Publications include HillNotes, In briefs, background papers, legislative summaries, and trade and investment profiles. New content is added regularly to provide timely analysis of issues affecting Canadians.

M

N

O

P

The PIIE is a research organization based in Washington, DC that publishes reports, working papers, and policy briefs on global economic issues. Current areas of focus include macroeconomic policy; globalization, inequality, and labour market adjustment; financial stability; and the impact of trade agreements. 

The organization maintains a series of blogs that offer commentary on various economic issues. Current series include China Economic Watch, Trade Investment and Policy Watch, and Real Time Economic Issues Watch. The PIIE website also includes a series of recorded lectures delivered by global economic leaders.

The Pew Research Center is a research organization based in Washington, DC that aims to inform public dialogue about issues relating to US politics and policy, social and demographic trends, social issues, and global attitudes. The organization publishes reports and datasets that address these topics.

The PPF produces research on various issues of governance and public policy. The organization aims to contribute to the development of strong public policy in Canada through a focus on five research areas. These include the social and economic determinants of growth, good governance and healthy democracy, policy making in an age of disruption, the evolving nature of work, and indigenous growth and governance.

Current research projects include Rebuild Canada, A National Childcare Plan for Canada, and Public Service Innovation and Leadership during COVID-19. Publications associated with each of these programs are available on the organization's website.

Q

R

S

The Smart Prosperity Institute is a policy think tank based out of the University of Ottawa that aims to support research into the development of policies that promote a cleaner economy. The Institute publishes independent research and research funded through partnerships with federal departments such as Environment and Climate Change Canada.

T

U

The Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center is a partnership between the Urban Institute and the Brookings Institution. The organization publishes research that analyzes current tax issues and aims to contribute to the development of tax policy.

The Urban Institute is an American research organization based in Washington, DC that produces research on a range of topics related to American public policy. Current research programs include the Community Economic Development Fund, Low Income and Working Families, and Evidence-Based Policy Capacity. Reports, articles, and presentations are produced for each program and are available on the organization's website.

V

W

The Wilson Center is a research institute based in Washington, DC that addresses global policy issues through publications and website content that includes reports, articles, podcasts, and webinars. Research centres on economics and globalization, global governance, international development, and US foreign policy. Current research programs include the Asia Program, the Kissinger Institute on China and the United States, the Global Europe Program, and the Canada Institute.

X

Y

Z